About monitoring setup
Every organization's safeguarding structure is different. Therefore, Smoothwall Monitor Self-service lets you control how you want to monitor your various groups. You can let your users know that you are monitoring them or switch on silent mode. You can customize the words that are monitored are those that can be ignored. You can alert the user that they have triggered a capture or not and the message that is displayed.
You can choose who and when to be notified by email if a theme or word has breached your set number of captures triggered.
Exclude websites from being monitored
You can reduce the incidence of word or phrase capture from specific websites. This helps you to reduce false positives and make the data more relevant to your school or organization. Websites typically contain content links from other sources, therefore, it's not possible to block all future capture completely. However, adding the website to this list will have a considerable effect in reducing subsequent captures from it.
Websites not to block or monitor has two functions. The first is to allow websites to be accessed even if they are specified in the theme or content blocking categories. The second is to stop specific websites from causing a word and phrase capture. For example, where many users are accessing websites and creating captures from it, which are always of no relevance.
Acceptable usage policy (AUP)
The AUP message displayed at log-on is often the only indication to users that Smoothwall Monitor Self-service is present. Therefore, it's important that if you use it, you make sure the content is relevant to them. The user can't cancel the message or to switch to another application on the device such as the internet browser. They must accept the contents by clicking Accept to proceed. If they click Decline, the user is logged off.
Under the Logs menu, in the AUPs page, you can see a log of the users who accepted or declined your AUP.
The AUP display at log-on is an optional feature and you can switch this feature off for selected or all users if you already make them aware of their usage obligations.
When you change any AUP settings, they only take effect after the next user log-on.
Note: You might not have the permission to edit the AUP.