You are here: Product Documentation > Unified Threat Management > About the User Portal > Banning Locations

Banning Locations

Note: This topic applies to the Edinburgh Release.

A location can either be a physical location, such as a building within a campus, or a network area, such as a subnet.

You can ban a location, and the web-enabled content at that location, from accessing the web. The ban is in place until it is manually lifted.

To ban a location and its contents, do the following:

1. Log in to the user portal — see Accessing the User Portal.
2. Select the BAN LOCATIONS menu option.

3. Locate the location you want to ban and highlight the block radio-button.
4. Click Save.

The location, and the web-enabled content at that location, are banned from accessing the web.

5. To lift the ban and allow web access again, locate the banned location, highlight allow and click Save.