About system restore points

A restore point is a representation of the system files at a point in time in the Smoothwall Filter and Firewall. You can use the System Restore function to roll your Smoothwall back to a restore point in case of problems. If any restore point already exist, these are listed on the System Restore page.

The Smoothwall creates a restore point before each update to the software automatically. However, you can also create your own restore point manually. If you encounter an issue with the system, you can use your user or system restore point to roll the system back to a previous software installation.

Note: You can only have a single user restore point and a single system restore point. Every time you create a new restore point, it overwrites the existing one.

What's included What's not included

All network configuration, including source NAT, link load balancing, and port forward policies.

Note: MAC addresses are also included in the restore point. Care should be taken when rolling back to a restore point where the hardware has changed.

All log files.

All Safeguarding exclusions.

All reporting data files and indexes.

All authentication configuration.

Note: If you make use of a Google directory service, make sure that you create your restore point after the Smoothwall has completed its synchronization with Google, as the usernames, user groups, and organizational units are held locally.

All Safeguarding reporting data files and indexes.

All installed modules, such as the Bandwidth module, including their specific configuration.  
All installed open source certificates and certificate authorities.
All installed certificates used for signed services.
Any archives created and stored on local hard drive of the Smoothwall Filter and Firewall.
The installed software version.
The installed blocklist

All Guardian policies including:

  • Authentication policies
  • Web filter policies
  • HTTPS inspection policies
  • Content modification policies
  • Antimalware policies
  • Block page policies
  • Policy objects

Roll back, logs and reporting data

When you roll back the system to a restore point, logs and reporting data aren't removed from the system or restarted into new files. They continue as if nothing happened. For example, let's say you create a restore point on January 1st. For the next three months, the Smoothwall continues with operations — building log and reporting files. On March 20th, a situation occurs where you need to roll back to the last known "good" point— January 1st. All installed software and modules, and resulting configuration, are restored to how they were on January 1st. However, the log files still contain all data from between January 1st and March 20th. Any report run after March 20th will still contain data from the same time period (if requested).

Things you can do here

Creating restore points

Rolling back to a user or system restore point

Page reference details

System restore

Something not right? .